11th June 2013

Tour of The Book Of Kells for Risk Summit delegates (departing from The Front Arch/Main Entrance, Trinity College Dublin, College Green)
11:00 – 12:00
Registration opens at Trinity College Dublin – Edmund Burke Theatre
Publication desk with relevant articles/materials will be set up next to registration.
Optional light lunch at Trinity College Dublin.
Opening Remarks and Welcome Message
13:45 – 14:30
Keynote Addresses:
  • Professor Krzysztof Maruszewski, Director of the JRC’s Institute for Health and Consumer Protection (IHCP), European Commission
  • MEP Julie Girling, Chair of the informal European Parliamentary Working Group on Risk – “Risk based policy making in Europe: Lessons from the European Parliament”

Panel 1


Promoting science based regulation in Europe – Challenges and Opportunities.

  • Chaired by Professor Ragnar Löfstedt Director, King’s Centre for Risk Management
  • Dr. Franck Foures, Deputy Director in charge of food and health issues at the Directorate of Risk Assessment, French Agency for Food, Environmental and Occupational Health & Safety (ANSES)
  • Dr. Hubert Mandery,  Director General for The European Chemical Industry Council (CEFIC)
  • Prof. Dr. Ortwin Renn, University of Stuttgart
  • MEP Julie Girling,Chair of the informal European Parliamentary Working Group on Risk
Coffee Break and Networking Opportunity

Panel 2

16:30 – 18:00

Hazard classifications and risk assessments – How do we best regulate?

  • Chaired by Professor Ragnar Löfstedt Director, King’s Centre for Risk Management
  • Professor Dr. Reiner Wittkowski,Vice-President of the Federal Institute for Risk Assessment (BfR)
  • Jack De Brujin, Director of Risk Management, European Chemicals Agency
  • Dr. Mikael Karlsson, President of the European Environment Bureau, Director General of the Swedish Society for Nature Conservation
  • David Fischer, Senior Director American Chemistry Council
Reception and Gala Dinner, Dublin City Hall. (Dress-code: Business Casual)


12th June 2013

Panel 3


The role of smart and better regulation: Lessons from the Member States and beyond

  • Chaired by Pat O’Mahony, Chief Executive, Irish Medicines Board
  • Professor Susan Dudley (former head of the Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs, Office of Management and Budget), George Washington University
  • Seppo Ahvenainen Director General, Finnish Safety and Chemicals Agency
  • Dr. Marianne Klingbeil, Deputy Secretary General, Smart Regulation: Evaluation, impact assessment and application of EU law, Secretariat General, European Commission
  • Prof. Mark Ferguson, Director General, Science Foundation Ireland.
Coffee Break and Networking Opportunity

Panel 4


Risk based policy making and precautionary principle: Have we got it right?

  • Chaired by Dr Kevin Bradley, President, Nickel Institute.
  • Geoffrey Podger, Chief Executive of the UK Health and Safety Executive
  • Dame Deirdre Hutton, Chair, UK Civil Aviation Authority
  • Dara Lynott, Deputy Director General, Irish Environmental Protection Agency
  • Sarah Veale, Trade Congress, former co chair of the Risk and Regulatory Advisory Council, Member of the UK Regulatory Policy Committee
Wrap up of the Risk Summit Ragnar Löfstedt
Closure of Summit with Seán Sherlock TD
Minister of State for Department of Enterprise, Jobs & Innovation and Department of Education & Skills with responsibility for Research & Innovation
Closing Lunch at Trinity College Dublin
Agenda is subject to change